This is the preliminary (or launch) version of the 2024-2025 VCU Bulletin. Courses that expose students to cutting-edge content and transformative learning may be added and notification of additional program approvals may be received prior to finalization. General education program content is also subject to change. The final edition and full PDF version will include these updates and will be available in August prior to the beginning of the fall semester.

Bonnie McCoy
Assistant professor and chair

The mission of the Department of Theatre is to educate and train students as theatre professionals and/or academicians in the field of performance, design/technology or theatre pedagogy.

In fulfilling its mission, the Department of Theatre provides students with the professional and cultural foundations essential for achieving the highest standards of the art. The department offers three degrees — a Bachelor of Arts, a Bachelor of Fine Arts and a Master of Fine Arts — to which applicants are admitted based on demonstration of ability, genuine interest determined during an interview, and audition and/or portfolio presentation.

In addition to introductory theatre and acting courses for non-majors, the department also serves students throughout the university with offerings in speech communication.